April 10, 2013–walking all day

I just got off the phone with her.  She asked the staff at WP to call me because “she had been walking all day, got as far as the personal care home, but didn’t want to try to get back home to Olmsted Falls because it’s dark already.”  And where should she sleep tonight?

It is 12:30 on a bright, sunny afternoon.

Her confusion seemed complete.  I tried to explain that her mind was playing tricks on her.  Perhaps she had had a bad dream?  I went over general realities, but she was getting upset.  She truly didn’t know where she was or how she had gotten there!  It was so sad.

I told her to take a nice long nap and I would call her after supper tonight.  She seemed only slightly mollified.

The poor lady.  I must get busy looking at nursing homes again.  The dementia seems to be progressing more rapidly.  Much as I would like, I can’t fix her, just be with her as much as possible where ever she happens to be.  Breaks my heart.

___________

I called her at 6:30 p.m.  The staff said she was in her pajamas and sitting in the common room.  Speaking with her was hard.  She said she had to stop at “this rest stop” because it was getting late.  I asked her where the rest stop was.

“On the turnpike, of course.”

“How did you get there?  You can’t see well enough to drive.”

She thought about that, but became even more confused.  Did she HAVE to stay “in this place” tonight?  Yes, because all her clothes are there in her closet and her toothbrush is in in her bathroom.

I can’t get over there until Saturday the 13th.  She has been such a trooper for so long, but this change worries me.

About estherfromolmsted

written and maintained by Tina
This entry was posted in 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

