August 6, 2011–family history

The new reality is that Mother’s stamina is quite limited.  Though she sleeps all night, she often takes a nap after breakfast and always after lunch.  The staff at WP tells me she is  awake and alert from around 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. and again from about 4 p.m. to 7 p.m.

I brought her home for supper last night.  The dogs made a fuss over her, which always pleases her, and we talked about her family.  I knew that the third of the five Schmidt sisters had died during 1918 flu pandemic, which had hit the Cleveland area particularly hard.  (my grandmother Ruth was the youngest of the five).  What I hadn’t known was that Emma had a young child, Edith Elvira, who had also died at that time.  Mother says she was told there were eleven days between her birth and her cousin’s, but she can’t remember which of them was the elder.   My grandmother later married her widowed brother-in-law, so Esther was raised with her three older first cousins/step siblings.  I will be staying with the daughter of the second of those three in October this year, Sandra, my second cousin.

(Steph–you think YOU have problems with genealogy?!)

She has a doctor’s appointment tomorrow.  We’re hoping to figure out what has been causing her frequent, rather severe digestive upsets this last week or so.

About estherfromolmsted

written and maintained by Tina
This entry was posted in 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August 6, 2011–family history

  1. Steph says:

    Uh, yeah. I just glossed over the details there (= I am awful with those relationships and I live where polygamy is still practiced which makes everything much more complex!

Leave a Reply

