September 1, 2007–Father’s funeral

My 91 year old father died peacefully Wednesday, 8/22, at his nursing home in St. Louis.  We were visiting family and friends in CA at the time and returned home late Friday night, Aug. 26.  The funeral was the following Saturday in Olmsted Falls, OH, the town in which I grew up and where my parents lived for 85 years.

pre-funeral dinner with my 2d cousin Sandra and her husband, Tom (died 2010)

one of my favorite photos of Lil and Bill--2d cousins

Becky, my sister, is 14 years younger than I. The photo on the table to her right is my father when he was about four.

L-R: My 2d cousin Harvey, Tom, husband of 2d cousin Sandra, 2d cousin Bill, Esther, Harvey's wife Eileen, my 2d cousin on my father's side, JoAnn.

My father's grave is near the edge of a high bank overlooking Rocky River

The flat bronze marker in the foreground marks the grave of my brother, Thomas Andrew, who died at age four when I was eight.  There is another bronze marker in the middle of the frame just this side of the drive marking the grave of my still-born sister, Ruth Marion.  I was three when she was born.  The flowers on Father's grave are visible on the other side of the drive.

The flat bronze marker in the foreground is on the grave of my brother, Thomas Andrew, who died at age four when I was eight. Beyond, in the middle of the picture just this side of the drive is that of my stillborn sister, Ruth Marion, who was born when I was three. The flowers on my father's grave are visible on the other side of the drive.

About estherfromolmsted

written and maintained by Tina
This entry was posted in 2007. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

